blog

pensées

poems

2020s

2010s

2000s

1990s

1980s

1970s

publications


dreams

recordings

verse


books

reading list

wishlist


photos

gallery


genealogy

short tree

long tree


lagniappe

mmorpg:
Kaosmos Tunebane

mud:
Chameleon's Coed
Supper Club

DarwinTunes

web memes
linkblog


blog archives
Sunday, September 27, 2020

On doubt

Only the particular flavor of stupidity
we call evil never doubts.

Labels:

Saturday, September 26, 2020

Conception

To be conceived is to be convicted.

Labels:

Friday, September 25, 2020

More important

It is often more important to identify and eliminate the false in the world than to conclusively establish the true.

Labels:

Wednesday, September 23, 2020

Civil War

Will it actually get this bad? I think it may.

https://medium.com/@mikeselinker/a-wargame-designer-describes-our-four-possible-civil-wars-cf5b2e980099

Labels:

Monday, September 21, 2020

On authority

All authority without opposition is immoral.

Labels:

Sunday, September 20, 2020

Power

Adjectives can be more powerful than verbs.

Labels:

Friday, September 18, 2020

On art (Maclear)

Art is an entry point for the difficult. The beautiful is a gateway to the urgent.

Kyo Maclear, Birds Art Life

Labels:

Thursday, September 17, 2020

A fungus among us

Labels:

Wednesday, September 16, 2020

Roanoke Review

Found out that my poem "Made and Unmade" was published in Roanoke Review back in January. No more accepted poems in the pipleline now.

Labels:

Tuesday, September 15, 2020

New poems

+15

Labels:

Saturday, September 12, 2020

Human

Human hardware is made mostly of truth;
the human operating system, mostly of lies.

Labels:

Thursday, September 10, 2020

Constriction (Maclear)

Worry is a constriction. A mind narrows when it has too much to bear. Art is not born of unwanted constriction. Art wants formless and spacious quiet, antisocial daydreaming, time away from the consumptive volume of everyday life.

Kyo Maclear, Birds Art Life

Labels:

Wednesday, September 09, 2020

Broken, disenchanted (Goncharov)

'Tis an honourable, trustworthy heart. That heart is the nugget given him of Nature, and he has carried it unsullied through all his life. Under life's stress he fell, lost his enthusiasm, and ended by going to sleep—a broken, disenchanted man who had lost his power to live, but not his purity and his intrinsic worth. Never a false note has that heart sounded; never a particle of mire has there clung to his soul....

Ivan Goncharov, Oblomov

Labels:

Tuesday, September 08, 2020

New poems

+15

Labels:

Monday, September 07, 2020

An abstraction

The fear of abstraction is an abstraction.

Labels:

Saturday, September 05, 2020

What is impossible

If what is impossible is best, how shall we ever be contented with only what can be?

Labels:

Friday, September 04, 2020

Finger to a button (Lang)

The man stands opposite a nation
Thoughts of going nuclear
Bring his finger to a button on his jacket

Meng Lang, from "Facing a Nation"

Labels:

Thursday, September 03, 2020

The damage (Graeber)

Huge swaths of people, in Europe and North America in particular, spend their entire working lives performing tasks they believe to be unnecessary. The moral and spiritual damage that comes from this situation is profound. It is a scar across our collective soul. Yet virtually no one talks about it.

David Graeber

Labels:

Wednesday, September 02, 2020

New poems

+15

Labels:

Monday, August 31, 2020

The fist

The fist of cooperative power should arise always and only to halt the ascent of the individual or inciting group seeking to appropriate power unto themselves.

Labels:

Subscribe to
Posts [Atom]


Defender of Truth & Justice since (approx.) 1973!

© 1996 - 2020
All rights reserved.
Michael C. Rush
rushmc @ webnesia.com

(Site was originally called @ Wit's End, then
The Shattered Mirror, before becoming Webnesia.)