blog

thoughts

web memes
linkblog


poems

2010s

2000s

1990s

1980s

1970s

publications


dreams

recordings

verse


books

reading list

wishlist


photos

gallery

Flickr


genealogy

short tree

long tree


lagniappe

mmorpg:
Kaosmos Tunebane

mud:
Chameleon's Coed
Supper Club


blog archives
Wednesday, June 28, 2017

A prompting (Cusk)

The unexpected sometimes looks like a prompting of fate.

Rachel Cusk, Outline

Labels:

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

New poems

+8

Labels:

Saturday, June 24, 2017

Those that are absurd (Pessoa)

The feelings that hurt most, the emotions that sting most, are those that are absurd—the longing for impossible things, precisely because they are impossible; nostalgia for what never was; the desire for what could have been; regret over not being someone else; dissatisfaction with the world's existence. All these half-tones of the soul's consciousness create in us a painful landscape, an eternal sunset of what we are.

Fernando Pessoa

Labels:

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Begins

It all begins when we interpret potential as promise.

Labels:

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Easier

It is far easier to find someone saying what you need to hear than someone to listen to what you need to say.

Labels:

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

New poems

+15

Labels:

Monday, June 19, 2017

New tricks and treats (Grutter)

To find myself wrong is a triumph—not my brilliantly successful defense of yesterday's truth. That I endlessly can become wrong, is that not life's promise never to run out of new tricks and treats?

Theo Grutter, Dancing With Mosquitoes

Labels:

Sunday, June 18, 2017

On society

Society depends upon learned helplessness.

Labels:

Saturday, June 17, 2017

On deconstruction

Deconstruction is merely analysis without synthesis.

Labels:

Friday, June 16, 2017

The limits

The limits on what we know are set by the extent of what we think.

Labels:

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Full (Yeats)

The world is full of magic things, patiently waiting for our senses to grow sharper.

William Butler Yeats

Labels:

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

The only wealth (Grutter)

A collection of good relationships may be the only wealth worth striving for.

Theo Grutter, Dancing With Mosquitoes

Labels:

Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Who, indeed?

Who can recognize wisdom
who is not himself wise?

Labels:

Monday, June 12, 2017

To be alive

That's what it is to be alive,
to drift but insist you drive.

Labels:

Friday, June 02, 2017

Worth it?

It is well to do a thing well. But it doesn't relieve one of the responsibility of judging whether it is a thing worth doing.

Labels:

Thursday, June 01, 2017

Refuge

If you seek a refuge, follow the refugees.

Labels:

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Almost

Remove consciousness from the world and it almost makes sense.

Labels:

Tuesday, May 30, 2017

The poetic world

The poetic world also has blood and pettiness, loss and death, just in better balance.

Labels:

New poems

+15

Labels:

Monday, May 29, 2017

The poets (Grutter)

The whole scientific community, perhaps all nature, is in labor to give birth to its poets. They are its eyes.... The poets are the seed crystals on which the latent capacities of a people can precipitate.

Theo Grutter, Dancing With Mosquitoes

Labels:

Subscribe to
Posts [Atom]


Defender of Truth & Justice since (approx.) 1973!

© 1996 - 2017
All rights reserved.
Michael C. Rush
rushmc @ webnesia.com