blog

pensées

poems

2020s

2010s

2000s

1990s

1980s

1970s

publications


dreams

recordings

verse


books

reading list

wishlist


blog archives
Friday, July 19, 2024

Occupation

My occupation is opinion.

Labels:

Wednesday, July 17, 2024

Accountability

There are so many people that I will not give of my time the time required to give them the time of day. I never agreed to pretend that everyone was of equal value, or that they had value simply by managing to exist, regardless of the nature of their thoughts or actions. I have no problem whatsoever saying "Hitler should not have existed, and once he did exist, that most undesirable situation should have been corrected. Preferably at a cost of less than 85 million lives."

Everyone, surely, is born with an equal right to a place on this earth and access to its resources and opportunities, but it is absurd to claim that that right is inviolable and cannot be ceded. By all means, err on the side of tolerance, of accommodation, of forgiveness, but don't shrink from holding people accountable, to a degree commensurate to the offense. Without accountability, all is chaos.

Labels:

Tuesday, July 16, 2024

New poems

+15

Labels:

Saturday, July 13, 2024

New poems

+15

Labels:

Friday, July 12, 2024

Could it be

Could it be that all preference is love, and all love, preference?

Labels:

Wednesday, July 10, 2024

Particularly

The particular is always peculiar.

Labels:

Tuesday, July 09, 2024

New poems

+15

Labels:

Monday, July 08, 2024

Fancy corn dog muffins

Labels:

Wednesday, July 03, 2024

The Stillwater Review

Volume 14 (2024) of The Stillwater Review with my poem "The Etceteras" is out!

Labels:

Tuesday, July 02, 2024

New poems

+15

Labels:

Monday, July 01, 2024

Most of the pain

Most of the pain in life is born of the discrepancy between expectation and realization.

Labels:

Sunday, June 23, 2024

Being open

Being open to the surprising does not mean having to accept the preposterous.

Labels:

Thursday, June 20, 2024

Easy

It's easy to offer salvation when you invent the threat.

Labels:

Tuesday, June 18, 2024

New poems

+15

Labels:

Monday, June 17, 2024

AI

Artificial intelligence is better than no intelligence at all.

Labels:

Tuesday, June 11, 2024

New poems

+15

Labels:

Tuesday, June 04, 2024

New poems

+15

Labels:

Thursday, May 30, 2024

Brown sugar cookies

Recipe from Cook's Country Blue Ribbon Deserts.

Labels:

Tuesday, May 28, 2024

New poems

+15

Labels:

Monday, May 13, 2024

I am

I am an iteration unique in its imperfections.

Labels:

Subscribe to
Posts [Atom]


Defender of Truth & Justice since (approx.) 1973!

© 1996 - 2024
All rights reserved.
Michael C. Rush (aka M. C. Rush)
rushmc @ webnesia.com

(Site was originally called @ Wit's End, then
The Shattered Mirror, before becoming Webnesia.)