blog

thoughts

poems

2010s

2000s

1990s

1980s

1970s

publications


dreams

recordings

verse


books

reading list

wishlist


photos

gallery


genealogy

short tree

long tree


lagniappe

mmorpg:
Kaosmos Tunebane

mud:
Chameleon's Coed
Supper Club

DarwinTunes

web memes
linkblog


blog archives
Friday, September 21, 2018

Cheese flautas

Labels:

Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Attention!

Words are attention.

Labels:

Sunday, September 16, 2018

Pursuant to pursuit

We pursue community for continuity.

Labels:

Thursday, September 13, 2018

The posture

What better way to express doubt
than in the posture of certainty?

Labels:

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

New poems

+15

Labels:

Sunday, September 09, 2018

On time

Time is the wind
made when what moves moves.

Labels:

Saturday, September 08, 2018

The refusal (Zapruder)

He [Whitman] "shall not let it"—that is, the lures of the world, the intoxication—distract him from his loafing, the refusal to be tempted out of idleness, from which all his great poetry emerges.

This refusal can be difficult to sustain, because of external and internal pressures.  Yet it is only through preserving somewhere, within oneself, a refusal to be "useful" in the ways the world expects, to be "functional" or "productive" or "responsible," that one prepares to be a poet.

Matthew Zapruder, Why Poetry

Labels:

Friday, September 07, 2018

Not quite

The innate is not inevitable.

Labels:

Thursday, September 06, 2018

Ambition to say (Nietzsche)

It is my ambition to say in ten sentences what everyone else says in a whole book—what everyone else does not say in a whole book.

Friedrich Nietzsche

Labels:

Wednesday, September 05, 2018

Everything

Everything is a set containing more than every thing.

Labels:

Tuesday, September 04, 2018

"Discontinuity" & "In Ruins"

Rat's Ass Review is going to be publishing my poems Discontinuity and In Ruins. I'll post more details as I get them.

Labels:

New poems

+15

Labels:

Monday, September 03, 2018

A thing (Porchia)

Man is a thing children learn.  A childish thing.

Antonio Porchia

Labels:

Saturday, September 01, 2018

Not every

Not every insufficiency is a failure.

Labels:

Thursday, August 30, 2018

Still

You may not know what you're missing,
but you're still missing it.

Labels:

Wednesday, August 29, 2018

If

If you're going to dream small,
then why dream at all?

Labels:

Tuesday, August 28, 2018

Unabated (Ogden)

The internal conversation known as dreaming is no more an event limited to the hours of sleep than the existence of stars is limited to the hours of darkness. Stars become visible at night when their luminosity is no longer concealed by the glare of the sun. Similarly, the conversation with ourselves that in sleep we experience as dreaming continues unabated and undiluted in our waking life.

Thomas H. Ogden, Conversations on the Frontier of Dreaming

Labels:

New poems

+15

Labels:

Sunday, August 26, 2018

Yet such is (Murdoch)

Absolute devotion of one human being to another is comparatively rare, yet such is the dazzling light of egoism in which each of us lives that when devotion fails us in some quarter where we have looked to find it we feel amazement, shocked surprise, that so great a value should not be an object of love.

Iris Murdoch, The Red and The Green

Labels:

Wednesday, August 22, 2018

Regret

Regret everything or regret nothing.

Labels:

Subscribe to
Posts [Atom]


Defender of Truth & Justice since (approx.) 1973!

© 1996 - 2018
All rights reserved.
Michael C. Rush
rushmc @ webnesia.com