blog

pensées

poems

2020s

2010s

2000s

1990s

1980s

1970s

publications


dreams

recordings

verse


books

reading list

wishlist


photos

gallery


genealogy

short tree

long tree


lagniappe

mmorpg:
Kaosmos Tunebane

mud:
Chameleon's Coed
Supper Club

DarwinTunes

web memes
linkblog


blog archives
Wednesday, August 05, 2020

On profit

We must relink profit with benefit.

Labels:

Tuesday, August 04, 2020

New poems

+15

Labels:

Monday, August 03, 2020

The sin

The sin of reason is rationalization.

Labels:

Sunday, August 02, 2020

Everything

Everything we now deem essential began as accidental.

Labels:

Thursday, July 30, 2020

Social divide (Solomon)

There is a basic social divide between those for whom life is an accrual of fresh experience and knowledge, and those for whom maturity is a process of mental atrophy. The shift toward the latter category is frightening.

Andrew Solomon

Labels:

Wednesday, July 29, 2020

Sense & nonsense

Sense exists in nonsense
and nonsense exists in sense.
Not exclusively, but enthusiastically.

Labels:

Tuesday, July 28, 2020

New poems

+15

Labels:

Monday, July 27, 2020

Baked jalapeno "poppers"

From this recipe.

Labels:

Saturday, July 25, 2020

Not knowing

Not knowing should be an impetus to learning, not an excuse to invent an unfounded opinion.

Labels:

Wednesday, July 22, 2020

The tyrant king (Fowles)

The eyes of the tyrant king
Who sees nothing, nothing, in each hope,
And nothing in each past but lies.

John Fowles, from "An Old Draft"

Labels:

Tuesday, July 21, 2020

New poems

+15

Labels:

On destiny

Destiny only exists in hindsight:
it is an illusion of position.

Labels:

Saturday, July 18, 2020

On redemption

Redemption is born not of forgiveness but of regret.

Labels:

Monday, July 13, 2020

Ever

Ever distant, ever desired.
Ever desired, ever denied.

Labels:

Saturday, July 11, 2020

On ambition

Ambition has many forms, but if it is fueled by a desire for wealth, it isn't ambition, it's greed.

Labels:

Tuesday, July 07, 2020

New poems

+15

Labels:

Wednesday, July 01, 2020

An imaginary story (Harari)

Paradoxically, the more sacrifices we make for an imaginary story, the stronger the story becomes, because we desperately want to give meaning to these sacrifices and to the suffering we have caused.

Yuval Noah Harari, Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow

Labels:

The failure

The failure is not in the confusion of the arrangement
but in the mistaken boundaries of our categories.

Labels:

Thursday, June 25, 2020

On history (Harari)

History isn't a single narrative, but thousands of alternative narratives. Whenever we choose to tell one, we are also choosing to silence others.

Yuval Noah Harari, Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow

Labels:

Saturday, June 20, 2020

Life

Life is too short to commit to anything.
But life doesn't work if you don't.

Labels:

Subscribe to
Posts [Atom]


Defender of Truth & Justice since (approx.) 1973!

© 1996 - 2020
All rights reserved.
Michael C. Rush
rushmc @ webnesia.com

(Site was originally called @ Wit's End, then
The Shattered Mirror, before becoming Webnesia.)